Random Pop Culture Thoughts

6 Mar

I’ve got no cohesive theme for this post other than I wanted to jot down some things that have been on my mind this past week. So please enjoy a glimpse into my pop-culture addled brain.

Life of Pi – This was the last Oscar movie I saw before the ceremony and therefore never really had the chance to blog about it. It was a stunning visual feast and I couldn’t remember the last time my eyeballs were so completely dazzled by a film. I read and loved the book years ago when it came out but scoffed at the idea of someone making a movie out of an experience that is so reflective and full of ideas about faith and life and also mostly features a boy and a tiger.

This movie also won best visual effects the Oscars.

This movie also won best visual effects at the Oscars.

Ang Lee deserved the best director award for bringing this seemingly impossible to adapt bestselling book from the page to the screen. The story is beautifully told and I liked it so much I am still thinking about it and I downloaded the soundtrack. Go see it.

Taylor Swift

I just read the article in Vanity Fair about T. Swift and I’m still smarting over her comment about Amy Poehler and Tina Fey making fun of her at the Golden Globes. She said that there is “a special place in hell for women who don’t help other women.” Really Swift-y? REALLY? Tina and Amy are two giant feminists so get to steppin! And their joke about you wasn’t even particularly harsh. They just joked that you were going to try and date Michael J. Fox’s son. Pretty harmless and not cruel or awful.

nemesis

You live your life in the public eye and if you want everyone to stop talking about your boyfriends then stop dating so fucking publicly. Example – yes, I knew that Jennifer Lawrence used to date the super duper hot guy from Skins but I never read much about them because they were discreet. Charlize Theron, Emma Stone, and Lena Dunham are all wicked famous and I know next to nothing about their present dating sitches because they aren’t making it public all the damn time. I can think of a million other examples – but basically, I don’t feel bad for you and this whole “Everyone is picking on me. Poor me!” shtick is getting old fast. You’re 22, get over it lady.

What I’m Reading

You guys, I am reading this book that I can’t put down and I’m pretty disturbed by it. I had just finished the quick and light “Silver Linings Playbook” and decided that I could really get into another non-fiction piece. I’d had the book “Columbine” by Dave Cullen on my goodreads.com ‘want to read’ list for over a year now but was never in the right head space to read a book about the school shootings in Littleton, Colorado. I mean, is there a “right head space” to read such a thing?

Anyway, Cullen was a reporter on the scene when the story broke and since the shootings he had spent 10 years compiling interviews, documents, first hand accounts, evidence, tapes, etc. to write a book about the shooting, the killers, the victims, and answers as to why these two boys would be driven to such unspeakable violence.

I started the book two nights ago and am already more than halfway through. The story is terrifying and fascinating and I can’t stop thinking about it. In light of Sandy Hook and recent conversations on gun control – it’s definitely a book that is worth a look. This book was published in 2009, so I am a little late to the party as far as reading this story, but I am extremely impressed by it thus far.

Other Random Thoughts

  • Rachel McAdams broke up with her long time boyfriend two weeks ago which means we can keep hoping against hope that Gosling will dump Mendes and our real life Notebook fantasies can come true.
Too adorable for words. Just get back together you two.

Too adorable for words. Just get back together you two.

  • I spent an embarrassing amount of time last week while swimming laps trying to think of a screenplay idea for a movie which Jlaw would want to star in. Obvi – Meryl Streep and Charlize Theron will both somehow also be involved in this movie. Perhaps they can play sisters and Streep could be their mom. Imagine the awesomeness now.
Can the world handle this much awesome at once?

Can the world handle this much awesome at once?

  • I’m getting creepy levels of excited for the new Game of Thrones season. The second half of book 2 and the whole of book 3 are my favorite in the series so far and I can only hope the show will be half as good. The recently released trailer for the third season looks like it just might live up to the awesome. I bought a direwolf t-shirt to wear on the premiere night, I am buying a pack of cigs for after the famous “lord’s kiss” scene and will be secretly shipping Brienne and Jamie. Sigh.

  • Brem and I are going to take turns recapping the goings on in Westeros and beyond. So if you don’t watch Game of Thrones yet – you have a few weeks to catch up and then begin Season 3 with us here on GOP!
My direwolf premiere t-shirt!

My direwolf premiere t-shirt!

  • My friend and I are thinking about creating a youtube channel. Would you watch our stuff? I promise we’ll be at least moderately funny.
  • I’m really hating how all tv shows are currently airing re-runs. Since nothing is new I’ve been catching up on The League and Shameless. Have you guys ever watched The League? I never thought I could like a show about something I hate so much (fantasy football) but it’s genuinely hilarious and amazing. It’s like the Sex and the City for men except instead of talking about dates and shoes they talk about football, make fun of each other, and one of the funniest characters is a girl. The most accurate portrayal of what dudes are like and talk about with each other on any tv show.
Greatest dude show on TV!

Greatest dude show on TV!

  • Brem has already discussed her love of Shameless on this blog and I am on board. It’s not the most perfect show but Emmy Rossum and the kid playing Lip are pretty amazing. And no one breaks my heart more than little Debbie Gallagher. Just finished the first season and am moving on to the second. #karenistheworst
  • Does anyone else have suggestions of tv shows I should be watching? I’m open to pretty much anything. A friend recently suggested Archer and I thought about getting into that. Thoughts?
  • I recently downloaded “snapchat” on my phone which is an application where you can take pictures or video, send them to friends and then they basically “Mission Impossible” themselves and disappear after the viewer looks at the image from a period of time from 3 seconds-10 seconds.  I mostly use this app to take pictures of cute Japanese things and then draw dicks on them with the pencil edit tool before I send them to friends but mostly I can’t stop thinking about how a pervy 15 year old boy probs invented this app to encourage his girlfriend that it was safe to send sexts. Gross.

And now a completely new segment called

Why Aren’t You Watching This?

Bunheads is a show that is created and written by former Gilmore Girls creator/showrunner and former Roseanne writing staffer Amy Sherman-Palladino. The show centers on a Vegas showgirl Michelle (the multi-talented, ever delightful Broadway star Sutton Foster) who wasted her potentially serious dance career on being young and stupid. When the show starts she is still dancing in Vegas and has a man who is in love with her who sees the show regularly – but this man isn’t a creeper – he’s Cameron from Ferris Bueller and he sees in our star all of this potential and amazingness. She gets wasted one night with him after a show and they end up getting married.

Preach Michelle!

Preach Michelle!

Michelle moves back to her hubby’s small town on coastal California and clashes with his overbearing mom Fanny (played by former Mama Gilmore – Kelly Bishop) who owns/runs the local dance studio. Right after their marriage her husband dies in a tragic car accident and we find out he leaves the house and all of his money to Michelle, even though his mother lives in the house and the dance studio is his property. Soon Michelle is living in with Fanny and eventually she begins teaching dance at the studio to the students. The show focuses on four teenage students as well – Ginny, Boo, Sasha, and Mel and they are as delightful and different and whip-smart as Rory Gilmore.

The charming principal cast (minus Mama Gilmore)

The charming principal cast (minus Mama Gilmore)

If you loved Gilmore Girls then this show is for you. It’s not just a show about teen ballerinas and a Vegas showgirl. It’s about the terror of hitting a certain age and realizing things didn’t go the way you planned. It’s about figuring out a new dream, being a new girl in town, finding family in places you never expected and growing up.

The show also creates great stories about friendship, boys, and adolescence with the teen girls. Of course the town where Michelle and Fanny live is populated by as many awesome weirdos as Stars Hollow was and it makes the show even more delightful. AND – I didn’t even mention that all of the girls and Foster are extremely talented dancers in real life and we are often treated to some spectacular numbers.

In signature Sherman-Palladino style – the characters banter like it’s no one’s business, allude to pop culture on the regular, and speak at a rapid fire pace. This show is on the bubble for being renewed since it’s on ABC Family, but if you liked Gilmore Girls then you should absolutely give it a try. I don’t care if liking this show makes me a fifteen year old girl, it’s good and funny and super underrated.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VKcQ-9mRhWo

What I’m Watching – The League, Shameless Season 2, Bunheads

What I’m Listening to – Youth Lagoon’s new album – Wondrous Bughouse – It’s got a dreamy sound and for some reason makes me feel like I’m underwater, but not in a drowning way. The guy who produced it produces for Washed Out and Animal Collective and you can totally tell. It just came out yesterday so I’ve only listened to it once so far, but I liked it

What I’m Reading – Columbine by Dave Cullen – see above to read all about it

Thanks for reading!

-EB

5 Responses to “Random Pop Culture Thoughts”

  1. Brem March 8, 2013 at 3:25 am #

    Whew. I thought I read this whole post and then realized my reader cut it off and there was so much more. I have so many thoughts – I love the direwolf shirt, am so glad you liked Life of Pi and will def start watching Bunheads and the League. Also, I watched The Perks of Being a Wallflower and am totally obsessed with it. At first I thought the casting and acting was off, but by the end I was totally in love with every one of them. I’m so sad it didn’t get the attention I think it deserved. It’s light and it’s deep and it dealt with feelings everyone has and feelings that I can’t imagine having. It made me so so so nostalgic for that age. I read the book when I was a freshman in college and it’s a totally different feeling now. I made a “nostalgic mixed tape” playlist on Spotify full of songs that stabbed me in the heart when I was in high school and college and have specific memories tied to them. Good stuff.

    • eebeddall March 8, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

      So glad you gave Perks a chance – it really got to me and I felt so much while watching it. Brilliant idea on the nostalgic mix tape playlist. I kind of want to make one now too — already have a few songs in mind.

  2. Colleen March 8, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

    Downton Abbey. I’m considering moving to England because of it. Either way I’m definitely changing my accent. Actually, I already have. Also The Killing on AMC was great and Luther on BBC was really great too. They both have new seasons in the works so I think you should get on board. I feel kind of weird bossing a stranger around like this but I was just pregnant for 9 months and now I have a newborn so TV is kinda my thing. Oh and this blog. Right Brem?

    PS none of my show suggestions are funny shows. For more light hearted entertainment I turn to Bravo’s entire lineup and Teen Babies

    • eebeddall March 8, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

      Great suggestions Colleen! I already watch Downton. I wanted to write about it on the blog but since I live in Japan right now I was on the BBC season so had already finished season 3 before it started airing in America. But I am really bummed about the people who won’t be in next season! I watched the first season of The Killing but gave up due to frustration about 2 episodes into Season 2 — my mom filled me in with what happened though. Ooh – I’ve never watched Luther. I’m going to look into that. I love the BBC! Have you seen their Sherlock adaptation? I watched it earlier this year and thought it was awesome. Don’t feel weird because you totally aren’t bossing a stranger – I love new suggestions – it’s great to hear from readers of our blog! Brem and I like fans!

      • Colleen March 8, 2013 at 3:13 pm #

        You’ll love Luther. It’s Idris Alba in all his British glory. That should be enough and it is. I didn’t watch Sherlock but I did watch Copper which was eh.

Leave a Reply

